2024 iHeartRadio music awards only produces one surprise winner

The awards show was still a bit of fun, however.

Rich Polk/GettyImages

iHeartRadio has managed to stay relevant when many other streaming platforms have not been. Many thanks might go to the company's public relations arm. They know how to sell their product and make enough money and musical artists also want to be involved with the platform.

This week, iHeartRadio held its annual awards show and there was not a lot of drama in who won and lost, but that was likely not really the point. Instead, this is more about presentation than substance. People are going to listen to what they want to listen to. They don't need their favorite recording artist to win a bunch of awards to cement their worthiness.

All that said, let's be a little ironic and discuss who did and who did not win at the 2024 edition of the streaming services awards show. There were no huge surprises overall, but there was possibly one of note. Jelly Roll not only won the Best New Artist for the Pop category but also the Country category.

iHeartRadio announces 2024 winners in various music categories

So is Jelly Roll pop or country? Well, a bit of both. He is a bit like a younger Taylor Swift before she crossed over completely into the idiom that is Taylor Swift. The funny part is that Jelly Roll is not "new" at all. He began in hip-hop in the 2000s, then transitioned to country music, and even made his Grand Ole Opry debut in 2021. (By the way, Ice Spice won for Best New Artist in the Hip-Hop category.)

Here is who was nominated and who won in the major awards at the iHeartRadio gig.

Song of the Year

“Calm Down” – Rema and Selena Gomez
“Creepin’” – Metro Boomin with The Weeknd and 21 Savage 
“Cruel Summer” – Taylor Swift
“Dance The Night” – Dua Lipa
“Fast Car” – Luke Combs   
“Flowers”- Miley Cyrus
“Kill Bill” – SZA (winner
“Last Night”- Morgan Wallen
“Paint The Town Red” – Doja Cat
 “vampire” – Olivia Rodrigo                

Artist of the Year

Jelly Roll
Luke Combs
Miley Cyrus
Morgan Wallen
Olivia Rodrigo
Taylor Swift (winner; no surprise!)

Producer of the Year

Carter Lang
Dan Nigro
Jack Antonoff (winner)
Kip Harpoon
Rob Bisel

Songwriter of the Year

Ashely Gorley (winner)
J Kash
Jack Antonoff
Michael Ross Pollack

Read more from AudioPhix