What time does The Tortured Poets Department drop? Song list, track lengths, and more

Taylor Swift's new album, The Tortured Poets Department, will be released on Friday, April 19, 2024
A still from Taylor Swift: The Eras Tour (Taylor's Version). © 2024 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
A still from Taylor Swift: The Eras Tour (Taylor's Version). © 2024 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved. /

Taylor Swift's The Tortured Poets Department is almost here! I know I'm not alone in thinking it should be an international holiday, but here we are.

Fans everywhere are waiting patiently -- and let's be real, very impatiently, too -- for the new album that was announced at the 2024 Grammys, to drop. Luckily, the wait ends on Friday, April 19, 2024.

Well, it actually ends a little earlier than that for some! The Tortured Poets Department drops at 12:00 a.m. ET on Friday, April 19. While Taylor Swift says "meet me at midnight" to the East Coasters, you can actually listen to the full album starting at 9 p.m. PT on Thursday, April 18, if you live on the West Coast. Obviously, those in Central and Mountain time can stream the album at 11 p.m. C and 10 p.m. MT on Thursday, as well.

Oh, and we have more good news to share! Taylor Swift's new music video for a mystery track from The Tortured Poets Department will go live at 8 p.m. ET on Friday, too.

Song list and lengths

We also know the official song list for The Tortured Poets Department and the track lengths! There are officially 16 songs on the standard version of the album.

All 16 songs were written by Taylor Swift, with Jack Antonoff and Aaron Dessner getting writing credits on several songs. There are two features on the album, Post Malone and Florence + the Machine.



Fortnight (feat. Post Malone)


The Tortured Poets Department


My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys


Down Bad


So Long, London


But Daddy I Love Him


Fresh Out The Slammer


Florida!!! (feat. Florence + the Machine)


Guilty as Sin?


Who's Afraid of Little Old Me?


I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)




I Can Do It With a Broken Heart


The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived


The Alchemy


Clara Bow


There are also four bonus tracks on the extended versions of the album, including "The Albatross," "The Bolter," "The Manuscript," and "The Black Dog."

Two tracks to keep an eye (or ear) on? "I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)" and "The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived" for obvious reasons.

Where to stream

If you didn't pre-order The Tortured Poets Department by now, it isn't going to arrive anytime soon. Not soon enough to listen to the album; that's for sure! Unless you are picking up the album at Target or another retailer, we recommend streaming the new album on Spotify, Apple Music, and Amazon Music.

You'll need a free trial or subscription for each, but we all know it's going to be well worth the money to stream The Tortured Poets Department as soon as it's available.

Merry Swiftmas, everybody!

Every Taylor Swift album, ranked from worst to best . Every Taylor Swift album, ranked from worst to best . light. Next