Five songs to prepare you for Taylor Swift's 'The Tortured Poets Department'

In order to prepare for The Tortured Poets Department here are some of Swift’s songs which may help Swifties and non-Swifties alike make sense of the new album as we await its release

Ashok Kumar/TAS24/GettyImages
4 of 4

No. 5 - "All Too Well (10-minute Version) (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)" - Red (Taylor’s Version)

Chances are if you know Taylor Swift, you will know her ground-breaking song "All Too Well." A fan-favorite track that is often regarded as Swift’s magnum opus, "All Too Well" transcends the definition of a “breakup song.” Upon the arrival of Red (Taylor’s Version), "All Too Well" was distributed in its original five-minute format as well as an unreleased 10-minute variant. Once the stuff of Swiftie legend, "All Too Well (10 Minute Version)" reinvigorated the original version’s popularity following Swift’s release of the All Too Well short film featuring Sadie Sink and Dylan O'Brien. 

"All Too Well" is a heart-wrenching lamentation of love lost and turned cold and it is a must-listen track for any music historian. With Swift’s well-known history of writing albums inspired by her own life, The Tortured Poets Department will likely feature glimpses into some of her biggest moments from the past several years, including her aforementioned split from Joe Alwyn. Listening to "All Too Well" is essential for preparing to listen to The Tortured Poets Department because it provides listeners with an easy foray into Swift’s masterful songwriting especially in times when she is heartbroken and conflicted.

The Tortured Poets Department has 16 new tracks plus one bonus track which are as follows:

Side A

"Fortnight (feat. Post Malone)"
"The Tortured Poets Department"
"My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys"
"Down Bad"

Side B

"So Long, London"
"But Daddy I Love Him"
"Fresh Out the Slammer"
"Florida!!! (Florence + the Machine)"

Side C

"Guilty as Sin?"
"Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me?"
"I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)"

Side D

"I Can Do It With a Broken Heart"
"The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived"
"The Alchemy"
"Clara Bow"
Bonus Track: "The Manuscript"

Read more from AudioPhix