Taylor Swift's 'The Tortured Poets Department': Everything you need to know

Swift's new album will be released on April 19.
Ashok Kumar/TAS24/GettyImages

Taylor Swift has a new album set to drop soon. Did you know that? The indie artist is not well known outside her native Pennsylvania, but she is a good artist nonetheless.

OK, all joking aside, Swift is obviously a global icon and most of the free world likely knows she has a new album, The Tortured Poets Department, set to be released at 12:01 am on April 19. That means a lot of Swifties are going to be tired tomorrow morning heading into work after waiting for the drop of the record and then streaming it overnight several times.

And there will be a lot to listen to. There are 16 songs on the regular version of the album but a bonus track on the standard LP. 16 was also the age Swift was when she dropped her first single, "Tim McGraw," in 2006. Swift does not seemingly do anything with there is no reference point to something that came before.

What you need to know about Taylor Swift's new album, The Tortured Poets Department

What is the tracklist?

There will likely be bonus discs to follow which will have songs from Swift's Vault, but here is what we know of the tracklist so far:

  1. “Fortnight”
  2. “The Tortured Poets Department”
  3. “My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys”
  4. “Down Bad”
  5. “So Long, London”
  6. “But Daddy I Love Him”
  7. “Fresh Out the Slammer”
  8. “Florida!!!”
  9. “Guilty as Sin?”
  10. “Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me?”
  11. “I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)”
  12. “loml”
  13. “I Can Do It with a Broken Heart”
  14. “The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived”
  15. “The Alchemy”
  16. “Clara Bow”
  17. “The Manuscript” (bonus track)

How many versions of the album will there be upon initial release?

There will be a total of four editions of the album. There will be the standard version plus three others that feature different cover art. These non-standard records will be called "The Bolter Edition," "The Albatross Edition," and "The Black Dog Edition." The non-standard editions will also feature bonus tracks.

Who are some guest musicians on the record?

Post Malone will be featured on the album opener, "Fortnight," and Florence Welch of Florence and the Machine will have a part on "Florida!!!" While the three exclamation marks seem excessive, Swifties will likely be looking for the meaning behind them.

Did anyone co-write the songs with Swift?

The songwriting credits are mostly Swift, of course, but long-time collaborator Jack Antonoff of Bleachers shares a credit on eight songs. The National's Aaron Dressner will have a songwriting credit on five tracks. Dressner helped out on Swift's Folklore album as well.

How can one listen to the new Taylor Swift album?

Every streaming service known to humanity will stream the record, of course. You can also buy vinyl versions from the pop diva's website, Amazon, and other outlets. The Tortured Poets Department will be available at 12:01 am unless the internet crashes due to so much Swiftie activity.

More music news and analysis