Unique Jimi Hendrix Experience live performance to be released soon

There’s a new live and official Jimi Hendrix Experience album coming up in November which hasn't appeared on any of the many bootleg recordings.
Doug McKenzie/GettyImages

This will be a great first chance to hear one of the earliest Jimi Hendrix Experience performances in the United States.  Hendrix had been making his name in the UK back in 1966 and into 1967, but as yet he hadn't featured much in the US. That was all about to change in the summer of 1967. 

With a little bit of help from a friend, Paul McCartney, Hendrix appeared on the Sunday evening of the 3 day Monterey International Pop Festival in June 1967. McCartney persuaded the organisers to include Hendrix in their lineup. Hendrix made a huge impression that night which led to more dates being arranged quickly as a follow-up.

One of the next appearances was as support to The Mamas and The Papas at The Hollywood Bowl on August 18, 1967. While Hendrix as support act may sound odd, it was apt at the time. As yet his band hadn't released any albums in the US. The band’s first, Are You Experienced, was due out five days later. 

The Hollywood Bowl concert became another wild and crazy night for Hendrix. He was on fire with his amazing guitar sounds. He also repeated his Monterey act of finishing the set with “Wild Thing” and setting light to his guitar before trashing it on stage. He was certainly making an enormous impact in the US and in the media.

Jimi Hendrix Experience live and unique from November 10

The concert at the Hollywood Bowl that night was recorded, but is only now being made available on a new album Jimi Hendrix Experience: Hollywood Bowl August 18, 1967. It is available on pre-order now ahead of its official release on November 10.

Jimi Hendrix Experience: Hollywood Bowl August 18, 1967 Track Listing
Side One
1. Introduction
2. "Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band"
3. "Killing Floor"
4. "The Wind Cries Mary"
5. "Foxey Lady"
6. "Catfish Blues"
Side Two
1. "Fire"
2. "Like a Rolling Stone"
3. "Purple Haze"
4. "Wild Thing"

You can have a first listen of  “Killing Floor” from that night below.

There are plenty of live recordings of Hendrix available, but this being a new release and previously unheard material makes it quite unique. It comes some 53 years after Hendrix’s death on September 18, 1970. Such a long time to wait to hear this, I’m sure it'll be worth it.

Other music news and analysis